• email
  • print
  • comment
Military photographers participated in the 20th Annual Department of Defense Worldwide Military Photography Workshop last month at the Defense Information School.

To participate, military and DoD civilian photographers submitted photo portfolios that demonstrated their visual variety and storytelling abilities. The top 25 portfolios were then selected for the photo workshop.

The workshop, held June 3 to 9, featured representatives from across the photography industry mentor the military photographers. Mentors have included both well-known military photographers and civilian photojournalists.

Many mentors have won awards in photojournalism including the Robert F. Kennedy Journalist Award in International Photography and the World Press Photo Award, among others.

Additionally, most mentors are also members of the National Press Photographers Association and the White House News Photographers Association.

"I get so much out of the workshop and have actually become a better storyteller and photographer just by soaking up all of the inspiration and teachings of faculty, mentors and students," said mentor Mary Calvert, a freelance photographer.

The workshop was created in 1992 by then-Maj. Mike Edrington at the photography training school at Lowery Air Force Base in Denver, Colo.

In 2009, the workshop began a multimedia wing. This year, 12 participants out of 71 applicants were selected for the multimedia wing based on experience, portfolios and command recommendations.

For more information, visit www.dinfos.dma.mil or email Lt. Megan Isaac at megan.isaac@dinfos.dma.mil.

Comments (0)

Please login to comment:

Find more about Weather in Fort Meade, MD

Follow us!

  • Twitter
  • FaceBook
  • RSS Feed
  • Flickr
Visit the official Fort Meade homepage Meade TV: The Fort Meade Public Affairs Blog

Contact Us

Col. Thomas S. Rickard

Garrison Commander

Chad T. Jones

Public Affairs Officer

Larry Whitley Sr.

Chief, Command Information

Ganesa R. Robinson


Rona S. Hirsch

Assistant Editor & Senior Writer

Lisa R. Rhodes

Staff Writer

Maddie Ecker

Staff Writer

Tim Davis

Design Coordinator

Allison Thompson


Michele Griesbauer


General Advertising Inquiries